Two UT Southwestern Scientists Chosen as HHMI Hanna Grey Fellows

Newswise – Two UT Southwestern postdoctoral fellows – Gabriel Muhire Gihana, Ph.D., and Victor Lopez, Ph.D. – are amongst 25 early-career scientists in america chosen as 2022 Hanna H. Gray Scholars. The fellowship program, managed by the Howard Hughes Medical Institute (HHMI), goals to extend range within the biomedical sciences by recruiting and retaining people from underrepresented teams within the life sciences and from deprived backgrounds.

This yr’s fellows will obtain monetary assist for as much as eight years and take part in skilled improvement, mentorship, and networking with their friends and the broader HHMI group. Along with UTSW, they had been chosen from greater than a dozen main universities nationwide, together with Stanford College, Harvard Medical College, Yale College, and Rockefeller College.

“We’re delighted that Drs. Lopez and Gihana had been chosen as Hanna H. Grey Students,” mentioned Joan Conaway, Ph.D., vice provost and dean of primary analysis at UT Southwestern. “This prestigious award acknowledges their excellent achievements and their potential as future leaders of the scientific group. We’re lucky that they selected to proceed their analysis coaching at UT Southwestern.

Dr. Gihana, who works within the laboratory of Gaudenz Danuser, Ph.D., professor and chair of the Lyda Hill Division of Bioinformatics, research the function of cell morphology in regulating the molecular signaling of RAS, a prevalent human oncogene. He seeks to know how RAS-induced mobile morphological adjustments contribute to the potential of RAS to trigger most cancers. Since direct inhibition of this gene has confirmed to be very troublesome, the examine of different mobile parameters favoring RAS-related cancers may result in new therapies. Final yr, Dr. Gihana was named the recipient of the Damon Runyon Fellowship.

Dr. Lopez, who works within the laboratory of Vincent Tagliabracci, Ph.D.affiliate professor of molecular biology and HHMI researcher, and within the laboratory of Joshua Mendell, MD, Ph.D.professor of molecular biology and HHMI Investigator, makes use of a mix of bioinformatics and biochemistry to establish and characterize new members of a household of proteins known as ATP-grasp. These proteins are answerable for many important organic reactions. Characterizing their biochemical features, Dr. Lopez mentioned, will assist scientists perceive their function in well being and illness.

“It’s a nice honor to be awarded the HHMI Hanna H. Grey Fellowship, and I’m so grateful to HHMI and all of my mentors who’ve supported me up to now,” mentioned Dr. Gihana. “The monetary assist from this fellowship, publicity, and participation within the HHMI group will assist the success of my analysis, and I could not be happier as a postdoc. I additionally acknowledge how privileged I’m to work with an distinctive and interdisciplinary workforce of specialists right here at UTSW.”

“Turning into a Hanna Grey Fellow is an unbelievable alternative, and I’m each humbled and humbled to obtain such a prestigious award,” mentioned Dr. Lopez. “I’m grateful to HHMI, my mentors, colleagues, family and friends who’ve motivated and inspired me to pursue my scientific profession.”

With the collection of Drs. Gihana and Lopez, UTSW has had 4 scientists named Hanna H. Grey Fellows for the reason that fellowship launched in 2017. This system is known as after Hanna Holborn Grey, former Chair of HHMI Trustees and former President of the College of Chicago. Below Ms. Grey’s management, HHMI has developed initiatives that promote range in science training.

In 1986, HHMI chosen UT Southwestern to deal with one in every of its 12 main laboratories nationwide. UT Southwestern now homes 21 of 27 scientists affiliated with HHMI in Texas, together with 14 of 17 Howard Hughes Medical Institute of Texas researchers, three HHMI Fellows, three HHMI Hanna Grey Fellows (together with new recipients), and one HHMI-Simons Fellow. Since 2018, UT Southwestern has additionally hosted three recipients of HHMI’s Gilliam Fellowships for Superior Research, which assist their improvement of scientific management and dedication to advancing range and inclusion in science. HHMI is the nation’s largest non-public biomedical analysis establishment.

Dr. Conaway holds the Cecil H. Inexperienced Distinguished Professorship in Mobile and Molecular Biology. Dr. Danuser holds the Patrick E. Haggerty Distinguished Chair in Primary Biomedical Sciences. Dr. Mendell is the Charles Cameron Sprague, MD, Professor of Medical Sciences. Dr. Tagliabracci is a Michael L. Rosenberg Fellow in Medical Analysis.

About UT Southwestern Medical Heart

UT Southwestern, one of many nation’s main tutorial medical facilities, integrates pioneering biomedical analysis with distinctive medical care and training. The establishment’s school has obtained six Nobel Prizes and consists of 26 members of the Nationwide Academy of Sciences, 17 members of the Nationwide Academy of Medication, and 14 researchers from the Howard Hughes Medical Institute. Full-time school of greater than 2,900 are answerable for groundbreaking medical advances and dedicated to quickly translating scientific analysis into new medical remedies. UT Southwestern physicians present care in additional than 80 specialties to greater than 100,000 inpatients, greater than 360,000 emergency room circumstances, and oversee practically 4 million outpatient visits yearly.

Leave a Comment